British Isles – By Historical Dates

British Isles - Historic Dates

Author: Robert W. Penry @ 2021

Ireland: Ancient names were Tara, Meath, Ireland, Ancient Britain
Antiquity until 200 AD, Ireland, Ancient Britain
200 AD (Old Celtic Kings) through 926 – Kingdom of Ireland, Ancient Britain
927 (High Kings come into power) -1 Jan 1800 – Kingdom of Ireland, Great Britain
1 Jan 1800 (Ireland joins UK) to Dec 1922
Dec 1922 – Ulster, United Kingdom  (Counties AntrimArmaghDownFermanaghLondonderryTyrone)
     Capital: Belfast 
Dec 1922 – Dec 1937 – Irish Free State (rest of counties except 6 that remained in UK)
Dec 1937 – Present – Republic of Ireland – Counties are:                                
Carlow,     Cavan    Clare,    Cork,   Donegal,     Dublin,   Dún Laoghaire–Rathdown,     Fingal,    South-Dublin Galway,  Kerry   Kildare  Kilkenny,  Laois,   Leitrim,   Limerick   Longford  Louth  MayoMeath,   Monaghan  Offaly  Roscommon,   Sligo  Tipperary,    Waterford,    Westmeath,    Wexford,    Wicklow
     Capital:  Dublin
Antiquity to 1000 – Scotland didn’t exist.  The proper name was Alba and the inhabitants were a mixture of Picts, Scots, Vikings, Romans
Example:  Dunfermline, Fife, Alba, Ancient Britain
1000 until 1 May 1707, Kingdom of Scotland, Great Britain
1 May 1707 to Present – Scotland, United Kingdom
Antiquity to 500 – (Tribal).  The country was roughly divided into Celtic principalities of  Deceangli, Gangani, Ordovices, Silures, and Demetae These are not usually referred to in the place name.
If a tribe is identified, then it is added as a suffix to the name of the person.  Example:  Elystan of the Silures, and the place is usually modernized to show the current location if known.
After the Roman occupation ended in 410, the Celtic principalities were gradually replaced by Welsh Tribes and divided into separate kingdoms, Gwynedd, Powys, Deheubarth, Brycheniog, Morgannwg, and Gwent.  
Example:  Castel Madoc, Kingdom of Brycheniog, Wales, Ancient Britain
1282 Wales was divided in Counties.  Great Britain until 1 May 1707.
    Example:  Aberystwyth, Cardiganshire, Wales, Great Britain
1 May 1707 (Formation of UK) to 1996.
1996 – The Counties were changed to a series of new counties based on the Old Welsh Tribal Counties and also into a series of 22 Council Areas.  Many of the old Norman named counties also have Celtic Names.  Either can be used in recording places.
Example:  Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales, United Kingdom
    Example:  Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire, Wales, United Kingdom   –or-
                     Carmarthen, Sir Gaerfyrddin, Wales, United Kingdom
Antiquity until 450 – Various Tribes in Ancient Britain also Romans
Example:  St Ives, Dumnonia, Ancient Britain
450 to 750 – Six Kingdoms – Vikings, Danes, Anglo Saxons
Kingdom of Northumbria , Ancient Britain
Kingdom of Mercia , Ancient Britain
Kingdom of Wessex , Ancient Britain
Kingdom of Essex , Ancient Britain
Kingdom of Kent, Ancient Britain
Kingdom of Sussex , Ancient Britain
Example:  St Ives, Cornwall, Kingdom of Sussex, Ancient Britain
750 to 1 May 1707 – Kingdom of England, Great Britain  (Saxons, Normans)
1 May 1707 to Present – England, United Kingdom

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top